taper time continued

Today, I was planning to take an extra day off just cause of some niggling knee pain. Didn’t happen.  I woke up at 8:30am, knowing that most of their crew were doing their last 16km at running room prior to next weekend’s marathon.  I  decided that even if I didn’t make it out. I needed to run.

I started out at the gym. I lasted precisely 20 minutes on the treadmill.  So I headed outdoors. My run, done at a painfully slow pace, with way too many walk breaks, took me to Point Grey Road, along the water, past kits pool, under the Burrard Bridge, and then to Granville bridge and back.  In the end, I ended up running for about an hour 45 minutes on the road.  I don’t think I have run this slow since I first started running.  Oh well,  I’ll consider it a really good long recovery run.  I have to confess, it was strange doing a long run alone; I haven’t run a long run alone in months.

I came home to inhale home-made chili and beer….mmm.

Discovery of the day: mint chocolate gu on a long run does not go over well…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to taper time continued

  1. amelia says:

    GOOD LUCK!!!!!! i hope your knee feels better :S

  2. Thank you! :). Hope things are treating you well in China:D.

Leave a Reply

