Today at lunch, I went for my first run after a 2 month hiatus due to injury.  It was humbling.
 
By run, I mean 5 minutes run, 1 minute walk.   30 minutes which in reality, involved at least as much walking as running. But the run was one of the best runs in recent memory. A fall chill hung in the air.  Brilliant red, yellow, brown and orange foliage littered the path.
 
I’ve missed running.  I’ve never been so happy to be out on the seawall, even if I was being passed by everyone in sight.  I felt in my element again. Like I had reclaimed a small part of my soul and I was exactly where i was supposed to be.
 
Oh and did I mention, my shins hurt and my calfs ache… Oh how good that felt. 
 
Today’s foray back into running reminded me far I had to go (30 minutes to running a marathon seems impossibly far) –  but for once, I didn’t mind. I was just happy to be running again. I have to confess,  part of me thought wistfully of being able to run 16km or more at a go, without batting an eye.  Oh, how I took it for granted.  
 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

