The road back…

Progress! I left the physio’s office this morning, having graduated to 45 minute runs, 3x a week in walk – run intervals.  As I rushed out the door,  he reminded me that I was still “a work in progress.”

I have a lot of strength work to do, and I am still a  broken rag doll on the mend.  But I can run, and for the moment, that is all that matters.Taking full advantage, I went for a lunch time run around the seawall, and made it further than I have in two and a half months.  At the end of my run, I had run more than 6km. Baby steps, but I was happy.

Yes, I was passed by people I could easily have passed a few months ago, and was dropped like a hot potato by those I should be able to keep up with. It is humbling when it feels like starting over; it has been awhile since I have felt like a complete newbie.

But, trying to let go of my  competitive nature (at least as far as running is concerned), I soaked in the beautiful fall day, ran over piles of rich orange and gold brown foliage, and reminded myself, that it won’t come back all at once, but I will get there. I remind myself that in running, as in life, I am a work in progress.

Yes, I have races in the new year, but for now, I am learning to enjoy the journey, the fact that I can just run.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

