Race crazies

Originally, I’d wanted to sign up for Squamish 50km (after doing the 23km version last year) but somehow, got lured into signing up for Orcas 50km in February in Washington – so that idea was put onto the back burner. The PRR first Half Marathon that my run club was putting on was too tempting to pass up.  And Big Sur was on my bucket list – and Boston 2013 happened, so of course I had to at least try to get into Boston 2014 – so B2B (Boston 2 Big Sur challenge it was).  Then, my training partners and friends went and signed for Squamish 50km, and managed with very little peer pressure, to coax me into signing up for the 50km at Squamish 50. So now my racing schedule thus far for 2014 looks like this:

February 1,  2014 – Orcas 50km – Washington

February 16th, 2014 (two weeks later) – PRR First Half – Vancouver

April 21, 2014 – Boston Marathon 2014

April 27, 2014 – Big Sur Marathon – California

August 17th, 2014 – Squamish 50km trail run.

Heaven help me:0.  This means I am spending the better part of 2014 training for one race or another. So much for off seasons. Granted – I just want to get through Orcas before the cut off, and run the First Half for fun.  I would like to race Boston if possible, and simply enjoy Big Sur at a very pedestrian pace (Please still let me be able to walk after Boston:p).  And Squamish – I would like to simply survive the run.

And right now, for the record, we are not even into December 2013 and I have somehow committed myself to a LOT of races next year.  Will be interesting to see how everything turns out.

It has occurred to me that I might not be completely balanced…

And yes, this has been a crazy period in my life and when I am stressed out – I sign up for more races…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

